Affairs of the heart really matter

Standard

Valentine’s day is coming soon and I can’t help but to be excited since Heart’s day means getting a present from my husband. We’ve been married for 14 years now and every single year, he always have something for me on February 14. Last year, I received a dozen of red roses specially delivered to our home. My Pandora necklace was also a gift from him during Valentine’s day and so is my Guess watch. I can’t enumerate all of them anymore but one thing for sure, I’m always pampered every year. Maybe at this point, you will wonder, how about me, being the woman who is known to be more “emotional” than men ( since they are noted for being “rational”), do I always give something special or at least do something special
for him on Valentine’s day? Well, to answer your curious mind, I would like to start by reminding you that for “every rule, there is an exemption”. So now, you can read between the lines..I have not been romantic for the past 14 years on Valentine’s day. Maybe, teasing from peers when you wear something ‘red” on February 14 and make it really a big day had an effect on me. Something always cease me from being romantic on this particular day. But this year, I want to change for the better..I want to be explore the emotional and side of me. So I thought of creating a romantic mood in our very own home.

I started browsing from the internet regarding Valentine’s decor at home and I got some great ideas from bloggers who decorate for this occasion. But I said to myself, I want to have the sense of originality and creativity as well as I create a romantic mood. This was the first thing I did:

I printed out a bird template from the computer ( you can download this for free ). However, there were no wings so I drew its wings and later cut it out and glued it.

As you can see here, I glued the bird template into a red construction paper ( spare from my son’s art class when he was still in the Primary ). I actually made two birds which signify me and my hubby

Then I decided to place it on white paper plates which I got from my kitchen cupboard and the stands are from my display in the bathroom

I also cut out letters using letter template from the computer. I again used the same red construction paper but this time, I used pink color for the background. The photo frames are form the hot dollar shop which only cost $1.50 each

I bought a new display as well which is a favorite word of mine since I’ve known my man..laugh! Yes, my hubby has brought laughter to my days. I am the more serious and structured one, while he is the easy going and free-spirited. So, opposite poles really attract!!

Another decor I got was this..LIVE! We live our dreams together and I know we are bound to laugh and love as long as we live!!

I also made sure that our photo is present in my decor, because it is a celebration of our love and life together as a couple. I’ve retained two of my duck decor which symbolize again myself and my partner in life

There you go folks, this is my Valentine decor 2012. The words, the photo, and the symbols in this Valentine decor have revealed one thing, that AFFAIRS OF THE HEART REALLY MATTER TO ME.

Linking to:

http://www.52mantels.com/

One response »

Leave a Reply

