My first love

Standard

It’s Ash Wednesday today and so I remember my country of birth because I’m pretty sure all its Catholic churches will be full again, knowing that the Catholic faith is so strong in the Philippines.  So today, I’m thinking of my first love, the one that I was with for 35 years.  I have millions of good memories there and when I think of her, I can’t help but to think that it’s where I first met my husband, in Mactan Cebu..one of the famous and beautiful islands in the Philippines.  Here is a glimpse of Mactan, Cebu:

Hence, when we had our holidays in September 2010, we visited the place again and of course it brought to our memories how our love story began.  Here is a picture of mine taken by my hubby:

Oh, we just enjoyed ourselves in that island with lots of refreshing drinks.

For my hubby, the local beer in the Philippines is still one of the best!

We also ate to our tummy’s delight.  We made sure we’ve tasted one of the Philippine’s pride, its roasted pig called ” lechon”.

We just had the time of our lives when we were there

During that time we also went to another island by ferry, the equally popular Bohol.  We were just fascninated by the Chocolate Hills, thousand of hills which look like mole hills that are covered by grass.  During the dry season, the grass turns into chocolate brown where its name originated from.

We’ve also seen the endangered species of the petite tarsier whose large eyes are fixed to their skulls.  But do not feel sorry for them, they can rotate their head anyway 180 degrees.  Also, these small species have excellent night vision.  Well, they’re truly amazing.

We’ve also visited the Butterfly sanctuary in Bohol and to give you an idea what you would enjoy, here is a picture of my son

and a picture of my brother with the longest ( 23 feet ) and the heaviest phyton  snake in captivity.

So with all these adventures, I do not mind seeing an overloaded dam truck with people on top ( as long as they remain safe ) and an open garbage truck with heaps of garbage collectors on top ( as long as they keep healthy and sickness free ).

My point is, my first love, the Philippines has so much to offer and it will always occupy a big space in my heart where i could laugh with and hug my cousins,

and friends

and just enjoy the company of those that I love .

To my first love, part of my heart still belongs to you!

About littleprince68

Passionate about motivating and inspiring people to achieve their potentials to the fullest. A graduate of B.S. Medical Technology and Master of Arts in Guidance and Counselling. Taught for 15 years and served as Guidance Counselor for 5 years in a University in the Philippines. Migrated in Australia in 2005 with her husband and son. She continues to strive to be the best that she can be and hopes that by writing her everyday experiences, struggles and challenges, other people will be inspired to keep going and aspire to continually grow, improve and transform every aspect of their lives at its best

3 responses »

  1. Wow! Thanks for sharing all these 🙂 I have long dreamt of having a blog such as this but time won’t permit me just yet. In this day and age of high technology, this is the version of our Dear Diary diary days. Chronicles of a life that we are blessed to enjoy.

    Cheers!

    ♥ Che

Leave a Reply

