Winter mantel

Standard

Few more days and autumn here in Australia is over.  The first of June marks the official winter season down here.  So today, I’ve decided to put up our winter mantel.  First I thought of the gift I have received recently from my aunt from the Philippines.  It’s an oil lamp which we call it there as “storm lamp” ( ilaw bagyo  ).  It is used during the olden days during storm and electricity is cut off.  This brings back memories from my childhood, brings back memories of the town ( province ) in the Philippines where I grew up.

What came with this lamp from the Philippines is the love and concern of my precious aunt.  Then, I put the fabric flowers which  traveled all the way from the United States down here in Australia.  I was chosen to be the recipient of these lovely flowers by Beth from chicenvelopements.

What comes with these creation is the creativity and appreciation of a another blogger from the other part of the world.

Then I also added my own chalkboard paint project ( picture frames I used for my son’s birthday party ).  This time, I have written these:

For me it the love that you share that will keep you warm this winter, more than the electric blanket that you use, more than the gas heater that your house has.  Love is the best shield in the coming chilly days of winter.

So here it is, my simple winter mantel:

Keep warm and continue loving!!

God bless,

Nova

I’m sharing this to:

52 mantels                    crafty confessions

It’s a Blog Party           organizing and decorating everything

fun on a dime               Delightful Order

I heart nap time         Kristen’s Creations

Raising memories

my 1929 charmer

About littleprince68

Passionate about motivating and inspiring people to achieve their potentials to the fullest. A graduate of B.S. Medical Technology and Master of Arts in Guidance and Counselling. Taught for 15 years and served as Guidance Counselor for 5 years in a University in the Philippines. Migrated in Australia in 2005 with her husband and son. She continues to strive to be the best that she can be and hopes that by writing her everyday experiences, struggles and challenges, other people will be inspired to keep going and aspire to continually grow, improve and transform every aspect of their lives at its best

8 responses »

  1. I love the mantel – it is odd for me to see though because it is 38 degrees C in Ontario, Canada today – it feels so far from Winter here!! 🙂

    • hi! i know, it’s odd to some people who reside in the other part of the globe but for us who are “down under” chilly days are ahead of us. I’m glad you love the mantel. Blessings to you

  2. Pingback: Mantels for different occasions and seasons « littleprince68

  3. Fun to get a comment knowing that you are putting up your winter mantel and getting ready for a new season. Thanks for checking out my summer mantel.

Leave a Reply

